Meet Our Staff

Tammy King, Executive Director
Tammy King has served as director of The Johnson County Children’s Advocacy Center since 2000. Since assuming the directorship of JCCAC in 2000, Tammy has worked tirelessly alongside her board, staff and team members to move the Center forward. The Children’s Advocacy Center has been recognized both nationally and internationally for innovative approaches to helping children in trouble. The Center has been called on to manage the Baby Moses Project, the Child Fatality Review Team and the Johnson County Christian Network for Foster Care and Adoption.

Drew Stallings, Program Director
Drew Stallings has been with the JCCAC since 2009. He received a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Stephen F. Austin State University and has past experience with the Nacogdoches County Sheriff’s Office and the Texas Department of Family Protective Services as an investigator, assigned to Crimes Against Children cases. Drew is responsible for overseeing all the cases that arrive daily at the JCCAC.

Kevin Sellers, Development Director
Kevin Sellers retired from public school education with 30 years of service in 2015. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Education from Southwestern Adventist University, his Master’s degree in Education Administration from Tarleton State University and his School Superintendent’s Certification from the Region 11 Educational Service Center in Fort Worth. Kevin also had the privilege of serving on the JCCAC Board of Directors from 2013-2015.

Linda Starnes, Administrative Assistant/Intake Coordinator
Linda Starnes is the first person to greet the children and families as they enter the Center. Besides her bookkeeping responsibilities, Linda helps the family complete their initial paperwork and show them the facility. Linda’s gift is making families feel comfortable and at home as they begin their journey of healing. Linda is a graduate of Joshua High School and before joining the JCCAC staff, was employed by the Joshua Independent School District as an Administrative Assistant at the Joshua High School Ninth Grade Campus. Linda believes that her own early life experiences have prepared her to show compassion, love, guidance and security to our families.

Deidra Morgan, Statewide Intake Coordinator
Deidra Morgan earned her Bachelor’s degree in Family and Child Development with a Minor in Early Childhood Education from Stephen F. Austin State University. Deidra works hand-in-hand with Law Enforcement and CPS, receiving Johnson County CPS reports from the Statewide Intake in Austin. She communicates with investigators on reported cases in order to schedule the forensic interviews, which may include the presence of our K-9 Advocates and Therapy Dogs.

Tenisha Polk, Clinical Director
Tenisha Polk oversees the JCCAC Therapy Program, which practices Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior Therapy. She supervises the therapists and counseling/social work interns. She also provides crisis intervention, individual, group and family therapy to our families. Tenisha graduated from the University of North Texas with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology/Counseling. At the University of Texas at Arlington she earned a Master of Science degree in Social Work. Tenisha’s experience also includes working with children and adolescents in both outpatient and inpatient psychiatric treatment facilities.

Carrie Ahls, Therapist
Carrie Ahls hails from Indianapolis, Indiana, but is originally from Austin, Texas. She is a graduate of Ball State University Class of 2009 and enjoys lots of snow. Carrie has a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and a Master’s degree in Counseling Psychology from Ball State. She has experience providing family-based services, college counseling, hospital psychiatric assessments, and community mental health services. Carrie especially enjoys working with those who have experienced trauma and empowering them in the healing process. She is a dynamic therapist who uses trauma-focused therapies within the interpersonal framework. She is happy to be back in Texas!

Mia Hudson, Therapist
Mia Hudson is a Licensed Master Social Worker, serving as a therapist. Mia earned a Master’s degree in Social Work and two Bachelor degrees in Social Work and Sociology from the University of Texas at Arlington. Mia’s goal, using the Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior Therapy, is to provide children and their non-offending caregivers healing resources and life skills to recover from traumatic experience to provide a brighter future.

Lauren Selzer, Therapist
Lauren Selzer is a member of the Fightin’ Texas Aggie Class of 2011 (Whoop!).  She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Texas A&M University and a Master of Arts degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from Sam Houston State University.  Lauren is a Licensed Professional Counselor Intern and a Certified School Counselor.  Prior to becoming a therapist, Lauren was a teacher, specializing in Special Education, Speech Communications, and Theatre Arts. She has prior CAC clinical experience from Scotty’s House in Bryan.  Lauren takes a hands-on/kinetic approach to therapy and has been trained in advanced Play Therapy.

Kacie Hand, Forensic Interviewer
Kacie Hand, received her Bachelor’s degree in Family and Consumer Science with an emphasis in Child and Family Studies from Tarleton State University. Kacie is a specially trained professional who conducts fact-finding interviews with children who have been alleged victims of sexual or physical abuse or have witnessed a crime.

Alex Vazquez, Bilingual Family Advocate and Forensic Interviewer
Alex Vazquez was born in Mexico City and arrived in the U. S. at age eight. He earned his Bachelor’s degree in Professional Development with a Minor in Foreign Language at Southwestern Assemblies of God University. A previous college soccer coach and bilingual translator for Granbury ISD, he most recently was an investigator with the State Department of Protective Services. Alex is responsible for assisting families by filing Crime Victim’s Compensation paperwork with the Attorney General’s Office and for providing or locating services to help families meet their physical needs.

Omelicth Huizzi, Bilingual Family Advocate
Omelicth Huizzi earned her Bachelor’s of Science degree in Psychology and a Master of Arts Degree in Counseling at Southwestern Adventist University. Omelicth is responsible for assisting the families that visit the center, providing and/or locating services to help meet their needs. Omelicth also leads out in facilitating Parent Support Groups.

Governing Board of Directors

Cherrie Green- President
Christy Hart- Secretary
Carolyn Smith- Treasurer
Janelle Evans- Executive Board Member
Betty Hogan- Executive Board Member
Gwen Beeson
Genny Brown
Chris Combest
Tiffany Fojtasek
Ruth Ann Hill
Stormi Lloyd
Emily Long
Katie Morgan
Jan Pitcock
Rebecca Roe
Jeff Silverman
Amanda White
Bill Moore, County Attorney
Chief Brad Anderson
Chief Billy Cordell
Captain David Blankenship
Brent Huffman, ADA
Assistant Chief Danny Rogers
Stephanie Williams, TDFPS Program Director

Advisory Board of Directors

Betty Hogan-Chair
Christy McBroom
Cathy Campbell
Letha Carmichall
Nancy Devany
Angie Erinakes
David Johnson
Nancy Johnson
John Contos
Amy Easter
Sue Rebstock